Sunday, January 31, 2010

Weekly Awards Round-Up - Jan. 25-31, 2010

The Directors Guild of America held its awards ceremony on Jan. 30. Kathryn Bigelow won Best Feature Film Director (the first woman to do so) for The Hurt Locker. Louie Psihoyos won the award for Best Documentary Direction for The Cove. Norman Jewison was given the Lifetime Achievement Award. More information can be found here.

The Grammy winners were announced on Jan. 31. In the film-related categories, the winners are "Jai Ho" from Slumdog Millionaire for Best Song Written for a Motion Picture, Michael Giacchino for Best Score for Up, and Slumdog Millionaire again for Best Soundtrack. More information can be found here.

The Costume Designers Guild has announced the nominees for its annual awards. The films nominated for Excellence in Contemporary Film are 500 Days of Summer, BrĂ¼no, Crazy Heart, Precious and Up in the Air; Excellence in Period Film: Coco Before Chanel, Julie & Julia, Nine, Sherlock Holmes and The Young Victoria; Excellence in Fantasy Film: Avatar, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus and Star Trek. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Feb. 25, and more information can be found here.

Anne Hathaway received her pudding pot and was honored with a parade on Jan. 28 for being named Woman of the Year by Hasty Pudding Theatricals, Harvard's undergraduate theatre troupe. Justin Timberlake has been named Man of the Year, and will receive his honor on Feb. 5. More information can be found here. Hathaway will also announce the nominees for this year's Academy Awards alongside Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Tom Sherak on Feb. 2. The winners will be announced at the 82nd annual ceremony on March 7, which will air live on ABC. More information can be found here.


Post a Comment